NHL 2004/ESPN Hockey

Impossibles
09-25-2003, 03:53 PM
Anybody bought it yet?

If so, let us know what platform you bought it for and what you think about it.

incawg
09-25-2003, 03:59 PM
ESPN Hockey for xbox (i'll be picking up NHL 2004 early next week so I can do a direct comparison).

This is my first time venturing away from the EA series.

The gameplay is pretty fluid. It "feels" very good. Controls are pretty responsive. My only problem here is that the deking system stinks. Or maybe I just stink at it. Anyway, I like the EA-style of deking much better. I feel useless on breakaways with the ESPN system.

Graphics leave something to be desired. I know the xbox is capable of much better.

Sounds are awful. The only redeeming factor is that they have good arena music (the classic songs with lyrics) and individual team chants. But the play-by-play and commentaries are brutal compared to the EA series. You basically have no choice but to mute it.

Lots of extras. Tons of teams, jersies, mini-games, collectibles, etc. Excellent replay value here.

They have the 1994 canucks team, which is the first thing I unlocked, but - to my dismay - they're missing pretty much all the player names! Guys are just listed as "Center 1", "Goalie 2". I have a feeling it has to do with the NHLPA but it still stinks.

Overall it's pretty decent, but I have a feeling that I'll enjoy NHL 2004 more, if for no other reason than that I'm used to the gameplay engine.

Jussi
09-25-2003, 04:18 PM
ESPN Hockey for xbox (i'll be picking up NHL 2004 early next week so I can do a direct comparison).

Graphics leave something to be desired. I know the xbox is capable of much better.

Sounds are awful. The only redeeming factor is that they have good arena music (the classic songs with lyrics) and individual team chants. But the play-by-play and commentaries are brutal compared to the EA series. You basically have no choice but to mute it.