Coaching Help

BigBadBruin
09-26-2003, 11:32 AM
I just was volunteered(?) to coach my son's hockey team of 7 & 8 year old's. Most of these kids are just in their second year of hockey and skating. What I am looking for is if anyone can supply some good sites which give some good drills for the kids. I've played myself and know enough basic drills to keep them going but am looking for drills which help with skill development and keep them entertained.

I appreciate any help given.

Thanks.

Dar
09-26-2003, 12:11 PM
I was a trainer for a bantam 'AA' hockey team and found many resources on the web. Some of the better sites were:

HockeyCoach.com (http://www.hockeycoach.com/home1.htm)

Just for Coaches (http://www.justforcoaches.com/)

Hockey Shot (http://www.hockeyshot.com/)

Coliseum (http://www.geocities.com/Colosseum/1571/index.html)

Hope this helps. Also, the best thing to do is become enrolled in a coach clinic. The hardest thing isn't learning the drills but getting the kids to listen.

BigBadBruin
09-26-2003, 12:45 PM
I was a trainer for a bantam 'AA' hockey team and found many resources on the web. Some of the better sites were:

HockeyCoach.com (http://www.hockeycoach.com/home1.htm)

Just for Coaches (http://www.justforcoaches.com/)

Hockey Shot (http://www.hockeyshot.com/)

Coliseum (http://www.geocities.com/Colosseum/1571/index.html)

Hope this helps. Also, the best thing to do is become enrolled in a coach clinic. The hardest thing isn't learning the drills but getting the kids to listen.

Thanks, Dar. I check these out. That why I want some good drills not just the ones I did as a kid cause I'll need to keed them interested.

Douggy
09-26-2003, 12:53 PM
Let them just play games... Have them skate like maniacs for the first part of practice, then just scrimage for the next part. I loved scrimaging when I played.

misterjaggers
09-26-2003, 12:59 PM