Hockey shot vs. golf swing

Walkingthroughforest
04-12-2009, 07:23 PM
I'm right handed and have a left hand shot with hockey, but I recently started playing golf with my dad, and when I was trying out my swing at the store, I was suprised to find out I swing right. Is this usual for most people? I would have thought it would be the same hand.

noobman
04-12-2009, 07:39 PM
I'm right handed and have a left hand shot with hockey, but I recently started playing golf with my dad, and when I was trying out my swing at the store, I was suprised to find out I swing right. Is this usual for most people? I would have thought it would be the same hand.

That's not unusual at all. My friend is actually a really good golfer (played CJGA and is going for some kind of golf sports management thing in college)... he shoots left in hockey but swings right in baseball and golf.

I'm actually the only person I know that's a leftie for every swing.

carcillorocks
04-12-2009, 07:49 PM
im right handed and play baseball and golf right handed, weird thing is i can play hockey left or right handed.

Buck Aki Berg
04-12-2009, 07:52 PM
My brother does the same thing

Redwingsfan
04-12-2009, 07:56 PM
That's not unusual at all. My friend is actually a really good golfer (played CJGA and is going for some kind of golf sports management thing in college)... he shoots left in hockey but swings right in baseball and golf.

Same here:)

Dr Turk
04-12-2009, 07:56 PM
Thats how its "supposed" to be. Alot of people think your dominant hand should be on top for hockey, making righties shoot lefty. That is generally the Canadian way to do it, with more Americans putting their dominant hand on bottom for better shots.

I shoot righty, but am right handed and golf righty.

ChemiseBleuHonnete
04-12-2009, 08:01 PM