HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   The Rink (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=150)
-   -   Technique question: as a defenseman, when you try to block a shot... (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=1007033)

GoalieMel33 10-16-2011 11:55 PM

Technique question: as a defenseman, when you try to block a shot...

should you hold your stick in front of you like when you try to intercept a pass or to your side like when you shoot (blade on ice or not?)?

During a game there is a goal scored against us that was deflected off my stick as I was trying to block a shot. One of my teammates told me I should hold my stick in front of me in that situation. I'm aware I should not block the goalie's view while doing so unless I'm sure it'll hit me. I'm just not convinced about the posture to adopt. I'm relatively new to the position (used to be a goalie) so I'm not familiar with the techniques. Could someone tell me their opinion on which one I should use?

Thanks for any help!

Rebels21 10-17-2011 12:09 AM

ummm i may be wrong but what i do is try to get my stick on it if its farther out and if im in close to the net i try to put my feet together and put the blade in front of my feet flat.

ChiTownHawks 10-17-2011 10:36 AM

Honestly for me when trying to block a shot I try to get into the right position so I am not block with my stick at all. Only when there is a really slow shot or a pass through the slot will I use my stick. Otherwise you are asking for a deflection into your own net.

CornKicker 10-17-2011 11:00 AM

more importantly than scoring in your own net you dont want your stick in front of you as the puck can get deflected into your own face.

im a forward but when blocking point shots you want to have your stick to your strong side to maybe tip any pass from a faked shot, other wise get your shins as close to the puck as you can, close your legs and if you feel the impact look for a breakaway