HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   The Rink (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=150)
-   -   Sports/Hockey Photography (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=1028675)

jagrgodr 11-13-2011 08:00 AM

Sports/Hockey Photography

Hello all, i am a professional photographer in the DC area. I have a great job photography job working at Arlington National Cemetery and i have gained a lot of experience working there, and i am ready to start thinking about working in different fields, mainly sports. My roommate is a motorcycle racer (going professional) so i already have my foot in that door, i am looking to get into hockey now.

The main question i have is can anyone suggest how i should go about doing this? With my Arlington job, the main photographer really helped me a lot by showing me everything he has learned in 15 years + photographing at the site, so i am looking for something like that in the hockey world. I am sure i could just go out there and do it, but i was wondering if anyone could suggest working with another photographer or just trying to do it myself.

I have heard the best thing to do is contact an AHL team and tell them you want to do photography for them, they may give you a press pass and you just have to give them the photos. Is this the best practice? Contact an AHL team and start from there?

I live close to DC and the nearest AHL team is the Hershey Bears, and they are over 2.5 hours away but i don't mind making the drive to possibly start a career.

If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know because i am serious about this.

I shoot canon:
5D Mark II
1D Mark II
40D

100-400 L f/4.5-5.6
24-105 L f/4
12-24mm f/4
85mm f/1.8
50mm f/1.8

I think my 2 main bodies are good, i would need to possibly get new lenses. I am looking at the 70-200 f/2.8.

Thanks!

Injektilo 11-13-2011 11:47 PM