HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   The Rink (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=150)
-   -   Kick a guys stick away? (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=1050539)

gabbagabbawill 12-09-2011 02:14 AM

Kick a guys stick away?
 
I play in a competitive beer league and was wondering...

Is it ok to kick an opposing player's stick away if they drop it near you?

Would certain instances make it ok? Like if they drop as they fall near you and it's in your way?

Thepandamancan 12-09-2011 02:43 AM

If it's broken and you touch it, you're supposed to get a penalty. I did this during a game once, thinking I was doing the right thing by sweeping the stick towards the boards and the ref said he'd give me a penalty for it if I did it again.

If it's just dropped, it could be considered interference. You prevented a player from regaining his/her stick.

Bottom line, if a stick is dropped...just never touch it.

kr580 12-09-2011 02:43 AM

I really have no idea but I would assume if it's not broken you would be able to just move it out of your way a bit but not fling way far away.

Bexlyspeed 12-09-2011 07:33 AM

if the player has lost his stick and is trying to recover it and you kick it away, i believe its a penalty. at least it is in the adult league that i played in years ago

gabbagabbawill 12-09-2011 07:51 AM

It makes sense that it would be a penalty if done maliciously...

noobman 12-09-2011 08:21 AM

If I'm nearby I'll usually pick it up and hand it to the guy. People say I don't have enough of a mean streak for hockey.

Anyways, I'm sure it's something you could get away with if you're stealthy and the puck is away from the play. Bending down to grab it and throw it will get you in trouble, but a little kick to send it behind the net probably won't draw anyone's attention beyond the guy whose stick you just kicked.

mbhhofr 12-09-2011 09:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gabbagabbawill (Post 40681455)
I
play in a competitive beer league and was wondering...

Is it ok to kick an opposing player's stick away if they drop it near you?

Would certain instances make it ok? Like if they drop as they fall near you and it's in your way?

If the referee thinks that you are preventing the player, who dropped the stick, from regaining possession of it, it's an interference penalty.


Hockey Canada Rules.

(a) A Minor penalty for interference or, at the discretion of
the Referee, a Major penalty and a Game Misconduct
penalty shall be assessed any player who:
(1) interferes with or impedes the progress of an
opponent who is not in possession of the puck, or
(2) deliberately knocks a stick out of an opponent’s
hand, or
(3) prevents an opponent who has lost or dropped his
stick from regaining possession of it

gabbagabbawill 12-09-2011 09:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbhhofr (Post 40686393)
If the referee thinks that you are preventing the player, who dropped the stick, from regaining possession of it, it's an interference penalty.


Hockey Canada Rules.

(a) A Minor penalty for interference or, at the discretion of
the Referee, a Major penalty and a Game Misconduct
penalty shall be assessed any player who:
(1) interferes with or impedes the progress of an
opponent who is not in possession of the puck, or
(2) deliberately knocks a stick out of an opponent’s
hand, or
(3) prevents an opponent who has lost or dropped his
stick from regaining possession of it

Thanks! This happened in a game recently, and I was wondering what the ruling should have been... now I know!

gabbagabbawill 12-09-2011 09:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by noobman (Post 40684647)
If I'm nearby I'll usually pick it up and hand it to the guy. People say I don't have enough of a mean streak for hockey.

I appreciate that kind of gesture.

Gino 14 12-09-2011 11:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thepandamancan (Post 40681771)
Bottom line, if a stick is dropped...just never touch it.

Unfortunately this is the best advice. Even good sportsmanship can get you in trouble, having two sticks can be a penalty or the ref could see your kindhearted gesture as interference.

AIREAYE 12-09-2011 03:43 PM

That comes across as a very douchy move on your part...if you make it obvious :p

shawn1331 12-09-2011 03:45 PM

Not sure, when we're killing penalties/powerplays and someone drops their stick in the shooting or passing lane I move it out of the way unless I have a clear shot to the net then I just shoot low off the stick and hope for the best

SmellOfVictory 12-09-2011 05:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thepandamancan (Post 40681771)
If it's broken and you touch it, you're supposed to get a penalty. I did this during a game once, thinking I was doing the right thing by sweeping the stick towards the boards and the ref said he'd give me a penalty for it if I did it again.

If it's just dropped, it could be considered interference. You prevented a player from regaining his/her stick.

Bottom line, if a stick is dropped...just never touch it.

Unless you're Bobby Ryan. Then you should pick it up and score with it.

Subnordi 12-09-2011 07:48 PM

For us goalies, if it's in our crease, we can do whatever we want with it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1_oSxrELGg

mbhhofr 12-09-2011 10:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thepandamancan (Post 40681771)
If it's broken and you touch it, you're supposed to get a penalty. I did this during a game once, thinking I was doing the right thing by sweeping the stick towards the boards and the ref said he'd give me a penalty for it if I did it again.

Rule 53 – Throwing Equipment
53.1 Throwing Equipment – A player shall not throw a stick or any other
object in any zone. A player who has lost or broken his stick may only
receive a stick at his own players’ bench or be handed one from a
teammate on the ice (see 10.3).
53.2 Minor Penalty - A minor penalty shall be imposed on any player on
the ice who throws his stick or any part thereof or any other object in
the direction of the puck or an opponent in any zone, except when
such act has been penalized by the assessment of a penalty shot or
the awarding of a goal.
When a defending player shoots or throws a stick or any other
object at the puck or the puck carrier in the defending zone but does
not interfere in any manner with the puck or puck carrier, a minor
penalty shall be assessed.
When the player discards the broken portion of a stick or some
other object by tossing it or shooting it to the side of the ice (and not
over the boards) in such a way as will not interfere with play or
opposing player, no penalty will be imposed for so doing. When
moving a stick that is not broken, no penalty shall be assessed as
long as it does not interfere with the play and the player who lost said
stick is not attempting to retrieve it, otherwise an interference penalty
must be assessed.

SidGenoMario 12-09-2011 10:49 PM

I got a penalty for this when I was a kid.

Dustin Peener 12-10-2011 05:20 PM

It's a minor for interference

OpenIceHit42 12-11-2011 01:33 PM

I've seen it both called as interference and unsportsman like conduct

ProV1 12-20-2011 06:13 PM

If the stick belongs to a teammate you can slide it to him. Other than that Penalty box you go. If the ref sees you...

OrrNumber4 12-21-2011 04:20 PM

Can't do it anymore, but when I was younger (much) I loved breaking two-piece sticks. I was never a great faceoff guy, but I was great at quickly pressing down and popping the blade out. It is a neat trick; too bad its slashing now. Works on composite sticks that have been flexed a little too much too.

Jumbo* 12-21-2011 04:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gabbagabbawill (Post 40681455)
I play in a competitive beer league and was wondering...

Is it ok to kick an opposing player's stick away if they drop it near you?

Would certain instances make it ok? Like if they drop as they fall near you and it's in your way?

One of the easiest interference calls in the book. Will get called every time by a referee who knows what he is doing out there.

CornKicker 12-21-2011 05:48 PM

kicking another players stick so they cant pick it up is completely unsportsmanlike....................but accidently taking a full stride and hitting the stick away from them **by accident** is just a coincidence.

weirdly enough this coincidence always seems to happen when i see a stick on teh ice.

adsfan 12-21-2011 07:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Subnordi (Post 40714849)
For us goalies, if it's in our crease, we can do whatever we want with it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1_oSxrELGg

Last season a visiting goalie picked up a dropped Admirals stick and brought his skate blade down on the middle of the stick blade and broke it. No penalty was called, but the ref wondered why the crowd booed for a minute and each time the goalie touched the puck.

shoeshine boy 12-22-2011 08:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by superroyain10 (Post 41299617)
Can't do it anymore, but when I was younger (much) I loved breaking two-piece sticks. I was never a great faceoff guy, but I was great at quickly pressing down and popping the blade out. It is a neat trick; too bad its slashing now. Works on composite sticks that have been flexed a little too much too.

I would never do something like this. I consider it a karma issue.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com, A property of CraveOnline, a division of AtomicOnline LLC ©2009 CraveOnline Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.