HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   The Rink (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=150)
-   -   Help with falling (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=1229799)

pnewsom 07-13-2012 09:57 AM

Help with falling

I keep hitting the point on my hips when I fall. Seems to take awhile to get over the damage, and reinjury is easy. Aside from improving my pants for protection, is there anything I could learn to avoid this sort of injury?
I started playing late in life, and have been at it for about four years.

AIREAYE 07-13-2012 10:05 AM

Is there a gap between the padding in your pants and your hip? Or are the pants flush against it?

Canadiens1958 07-13-2012 10:13 AM

Basics

Quote:

Originally Posted by pnewsom (Post 52499953)
I keep hitting the point on my hips when I fall. Seems to take awhile to get over the damage, and reinjury is easy. Aside from improving my pants for protection, is there anything I could learn to avoid this sort of injury?

The following basics should be considered. Are your skates properly fitted and sharpened? Is your stick the right length?

When do you fall? At random or when executing a certain move. Example when turning to your left, trying to stop, etc?

Do you fall to the ice or crash into the boards/net, etc?

Is contact with other players a factor?

Axman 07-13-2012 10:24 AM

Some pants are more heavily padded than others. Maybe you need bulkier pants?

Jarick 07-13-2012 10:42 AM

What pants are you wearing? What size and what's your height/weight/build?

I've found poorly fitting pants, either too big or small, hurt just as much as cheap pants that don't have adequate padding in the hips.

Jive Time 07-13-2012 11:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Axman (Post 52500795)
Some pants are more heavily padded than others. Maybe you need bulkier pants?