HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   The Rink (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=150)
-   -   More flex for week skills? (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=1271599)

mistrhanky 10-15-2012 05:02 PM

More flex for week skills?

Old man with bad knees joing a beer league. I am still learning how to use my weight and body to produce good shots(don't have a slapshot yet) and getting a decent wrister is my first goal, then I want to work on the rest. My current stick was an 87 cut down to about 100 unfortunately for stick height. I have been considering getting something like a 75 flex Mako($ friendly) in hopes of being able to generate a lot more flex until I learn how to get a shot going. I am worried that I might break the stick to easily or that it would set back my overall development. I am at a cross roads between wanting to contribute to a team but knowing it will take time to develop a proper shot mechanics. Any help?

uncleodb 10-15-2012 06:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mistrhanky (Post 55014793)
Old man with bad knees joing a beer league. I am still learning how to use my weight and body to produce good shots(don't have a slapshot yet) and getting a decent wrister is my first goal, then I want to work on the rest. My current stick was an 87 cut down to about 100 unfortunately for stick height. I have been considering getting something like a 75 flex Mako($ friendly) in hopes of being able to generate a lot more flex until I learn how to get a shot going. I am worried that I might break the stick to easily or that it would set back my overall development. I am at a cross roads between wanting to contribute to a team but knowing it will take time to develop a proper shot mechanics. Any help?