HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   The Rink (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=150)
-   -   Equipment: Recommend a Helmet Please! (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=1365659)

Devil Dancer 03-03-2013 05:19 PM

Recommend a Helmet Please!

I've been using an old Mission roller hockey helmet for the past 6 years, and as a smaller guy I get hit in the head all the time, so I think it's time to upgrade. Helmets aren't all that expensive, so I'm willing to buy top of the line. What should I get?

I have a pretty big head (hat size 7 5/8), so obviously I'll want a larger size helmet. I plan to attach a Bauer Concept II full face shield to it.

I'd love to have something light. Once in a while I get neck aches from my current helmet because of the weight.

Thanks for the help!

AIREAYE 03-03-2013 05:48 PM

So easy; whatever fits the best, protects the best! Try on as many as you can and once you've narrowed it down, come back if you have any more questions. :)

Beville 03-03-2013 05:51 PM

Anything from Reebok/Bauer/Easton/CCM/Warrior

As above, if it fits, it works.

Devil Dancer 03-03-2013 10:13 PM

That seems like solid advice. Will the Concept II work with any helmet I buy?

Four Boilermakers 03-03-2013 10:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Devil Dancer (Post 60906685)
That seems like solid advice. Will the Concept II work with any helmet I buy?

Bring it with you to the store and ask the salesperson. You can put the shield up against the helmet and make sure that all of the screw holes line up. Most cages and shields can be made to fit just about any helmet.

BigNumber1Centre 03-04-2013 01:42 AM

I have a big head and I went with a large 9900 bucket. Fits perfectly and is very comfortable. The re-akt sits too high on my head for my liking. I find that while very comfortable, the 11k doesn't adjust very well to fit snugly but thats might just be me. And the large v10 was too small for me.