HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   The Rink (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=150)
-   -   Numb feet hell - any solutions? (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=1443185)

AntsSheffield 06-07-2013 03:03 PM

Numb feet hell - any solutions?

I can skate all day at a public skate and do just fine.

But as soon as I get hockey gear on it's countdown to numb feet. Like tonight, we have a 1.5 hr training session and halfway thru I'm starting to get the tingling. By the end of the session and playing some 2-on-2s and I can barely feel my feet. It's really eroding my ability to skate when I play hockey.

The only thing I can think that it is is that I'm hunched over/knees bent that much more when stick handling that it's putting pressure on the blood vessels in my feet and cutting off the supply.

Anyone else had this, and more importantly, got any solutions?

I'm a 49-year-old newb hockey player.

Live1evil 06-07-2013 04:22 PM

I used to tie my skates harder when I played vs practiced. Are you tying them the same way?

Schenn 06-07-2013 04:31 PM

I started wearing Kevlar socks a couple years ago, and they fit tighter than regular socks I found. As soon as I started wearing them I would start getting numb feet after I was on the ice for a while. I've heard people complain about tight socks doing it to them before as well, so maybe that?

iLandHer 06-07-2013 10:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JagrsMullet (Post 67166377)
Sounds like poorly fitted skates.

I agree with this. You should always tie your skates the same way, whether your practicing or playing a real game. Simulating game-like scenarios is the only way to get your body prepared for them, especially at your age and skill level.

boo10 06-07-2013 10:28 PM

I have seen people restrict blood flow by taping their shinpads too tightly.

AIREAYE 06-07-2013 11:09 PM

yup reevaluate your skate fit. check for depth especially.