HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   The Rink (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=150)
-   -   New Ice Player (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=327633)

lotus 01-02-2007 12:27 AM

New Ice Player

We'll I've looked around this section for a while and since its pretty lively I figured i would ask for some direct advice or help to those who do not mind. I've listed the general questions at the bottom, all this background below can be skipped as this turned out longer than I thought. Aswell anything I think is real important.

First off I've been watching hockey and playing roller hockey since before i can remember. For some reason i did not play high school ice hockey, i graduated last year and its my biggest regret. I did play roller hockey on and off through high school and from age 5-13ish i literally played every day. Anyway for about a year now I've gotten back into it, heavily. If i couldn't get a pickup game of roller hockey going I would go shoot around by myself, try to get my shot going or do some skating drills. Here in lies my problem:

I've changed over to Ice hockey and i play in an 18+ adult league, beer league whatever ;p

I've been playing in it for a while now and just picked up my first composite stick (Synergy ST 85 Flex) and so far I love it though I've yet to get a shot off.

Anyhow the biggest problems I've ran into are Balance, Skating, and Stick handling. You could throw my slap shot in there as well but I've yet to take one with my new curve which may help.

Its been pointed out to me that my skates may be too big, and I think I agree. My shoe size is a 9 and my skate size is Easton 8 1/2. At first i thought they fit well but after a bunch of games they just didn't. I dealed with it because i couldn't return them (internet store would only accept if they could be sold as new again and this was not the case as they had been sharpened and have plenty of puck marks etc)