HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   New York Rangers (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Who else out there is rooting for a loss? (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=333803)

Shadowrunner 01-18-2007 11:40 AM

Who else out there is rooting for a loss?

First, I want to reiterate that I have been a fan of NYR from 1996, and it it specifically because I am a fan that I am now rooting for this team to lose on basically a daily basis.

If we stay anywhere close to 7-8th playoff spot by trade deadline, we will probably see another "scoring depth" vet (at the expense of a pick or prospect) coming into a system that is already a frightening reminder of what we've all been exposed to for 7 years before the lockout.

The obvious truth is that we are not good enough to win the Cup; hell, we are not even good enough to put up an entertaining first-round series. Last season was a result of unbelievable performances from just one forward and one goaltender. Last year's playoffs and this season are examples of what happens when even one of those elements isn't repeated (even with the addition of someone like Shanny).

I am truly hoping that the hockey gods will help the management get off this path with some good ol' fashioned losing hockey that we've all gotten used to. Hopefully this time, after so, so many years of mediocrity, we'll take a look at the Senators or the Sabres or the Thrashers, and learn how to manage a hockey organization the right way.

McRanger 01-18-2007 11:54 AM

They didnt make any major moves at the last trading deadline, something that we could have bet on in year past with the team SO close to finally getting back to the playoffs, so I dont think its a far gone conclusion that a big move will be made.