HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   The Rink (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=150)
-   -   Need Help Buying My First OPS (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=430514)

HML 10-15-2007 09:51 AM

Need Help Buying My First OPS

I started playing at 40+ yrs of age and am looking to move up from my ~$25 wooden stick to a moderate priced (ie under $75 on-line) composite OPS. I'd describe my game as "under development" at best. I don't have a wicked shot or anything but a couple folks have told me that a lighter stick would be helpful. In addition to lighter weight, I figure a stick with some "whip" to it will maximize my paltry shot making abilities. There are so many sticks out there, that it's tough to choose. From looking at the various internet shops I see that various Mission models seem to be marked down to the $60 range. The TPS R2 also seems appealing. Thanks.

Sm0otHocKeySPeeD 10-15-2007 10:35 AM

I'm not up to date on all the sticks of today...but if you want something with some whip just choose a stick that has a lower flex rating.

Example, a 75 flex over 100 or 110 will give your shot more whip as it requires less effort to flex the stick during shooting. Hope that helps.

-B

stick9 10-15-2007 02:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HML (Post 10781598)
I started playing at 40+ yrs of age and am looking to move up from my ~$25 wooden stick to a moderate priced (ie under $75 on-line) composite OPS. I'd describe my game as "under development" at best. I don't have a wicked shot or anything but a couple folks have told me that a lighter stick would be helpful. In addition to lighter weight, I figure a stick with some "whip" to it will maximize my paltry shot making abilities. There are so many sticks out there, that it's tough to choose. From looking at the various internet shops I see that various Mission models seem to be marked down to the $60 range. The TPS R2 also seems appealing. Thanks.