HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   NCAA, CIS, and other college (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=103)
-   -   Strength of CIS hockey? (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=571857)

NYIslanders587 11-12-2008 04:58 PM

Strength of CIS hockey?

Hey, I'm totally new to CIS hockey so I know nothing about it. How strong is it compared to other leagues(i.e. NCAA, OHL, WHL, etc.)? Is it a popular option for young Canadian hockey players?

kexodusc 11-12-2008 05:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NYIslanders587 (Post 16288250)
Hey, I'm totally new to CIS hockey so I know nothing about it. How strong is it compared to other leagues(i.e. NCAA, OHL, WHL, etc.)? Is it a popular option for young Canadian hockey players?

CIS hockey overall is a significant step up on OHL/WHL/QMJHL (the CHL leagues) hockey, and just a step down from NCAA Div I. That said, there's probably 10 teams or so in the CIS that would be average or better in the NCAA, though probably not top 4 contenders most years. The really good CIS teams could hold their own with any, the weaker CIS teams would get crushed.

Most good CIS teams are stocked full of players who played 3 or more years in the CIS. It's quite common for each team to have a few players drafted to the NHL who didn't make pro-squads, or realize they need their education before they pursue AHL/ECHL careers.
Players who play junior get a year of University paid for via scholarship for each year they play, so it makes CIS hockey a very attractive option for young players who've used up CHL eligibility. Very few CIS players make the NHL but the better ones make the AHL often enough. The CIS players who aren't drafted are often good junior players who were team captains in the CHL, etc, or played 4 years.

A lot of CIS teams also have a few tier 2 or Junior A players who didn't play CHL for whatever reason, and many do quite well.