HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   Philadelphia Flyers (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Clarke 2003-04 trade by trade Report Card (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=58277)

flyercide 03-04-2004 03:59 AM

Clarke 2003-04 trade by trade Report Card

Clarke Report Card, 2003-2004

Grading System:
A Excellent trade, B Above Average, C Average, neither
helps nor harms the team, D & F Awful trade.

I broke the trades down into two classes
Major deals, and minor deals.

*The trades are listed by class Major or Minor, than by date.

=============================================
Wednesday, May 28, 2003
Flyers Trade Goaltender Roman Cechmanek To Los Angeles
for second round pick in the 2004 NHL Entry Draft

"F, Major deal, Clarke seems to overpay for players &
get's less in return for them. A 2nd for Cechmanek who was a
starting goaltender in the NHL with awesome stats. And who
does Clarke have in mind of replacing him... Hackett? A UFA
backup goaltender with history of injuries. Need I say more?
Forget how Ceck has played this season for LA... this was just
an Awful deal. He did not upgrade the position he weakened
it considerably."

Tuesday, July 01, 2003
Flyers Sign Goaltender Jeff Hackett to a Two-Year
Contract

"F, Major deal, Flyers, answer for trading away
Cechmanek for a 2nd... signing UFA Jeff Hackett. Who
has for the most part been a career backup & had never
excelled in the playoffs. At the age of 35 Clarke was
banking on Hackett to miraculously pull it together &
lead the Flyers to the promise land. Looks like it's up to
Esche now."

Tuesday, December 16, 2003
Flyers Acquire Rights to Center Mike Comrie for
defenseman Jeff Woywitka, a first round pick in the
2004 NHL Entry Draft and a third round pick in 2005
NHL Entry Draft

Monday, February 09, 2004
Flyers Acquire Sean Burke From Phoenix Branko
Radivojevic and the rights to unsigned draft choice