HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   Geek Emporium (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=151)
-   -   How do you update firmware on a HDTV? (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=755672)

Moo 03-27-2010 05:29 PM

How do you update firmware on a HDTV?
 
If someone decides that a firmware upgrade for a HDTV is needed, exactly how is one performed? Do the instructions vary from TV to TV or are they consistent? Where is the software for the upgrade best found?

(Note: This thread doesn't mean I'm about to do one. I am just looking for instructions for personal reference, not lectures of why you should, shouldn't, or whatever. Thank you.)

wolfgaze 03-27-2010 05:35 PM

Sigh....

Check your owner's manual, manufacturer's website, or ask other users at www.avsforum.com

The majority of the TV's out there would require a service technician to apply the firmware update....

Smelling Salt 03-27-2010 06:16 PM

AVSForum is a good place to look like mentioned. Also, you can easily do a firmware update by USB or even a straight download from the internet if your TV has either of those capabilities.

Yoshimitsu 03-28-2010 12:56 AM

I had to do a firmware update on my Panasonic Plasma after the digital television transition last summer. For some reason, when it switched over, my tuner stopped working properly.

My TV has an SD Card reader on the front, so I had to download some files onto that and then upload it into the TV. Took about 2 minutes.

MikeyMike01* 03-28-2010 09:14 AM

It's going to depend on your TV. I updated my firmware about a week ago, and all I had to do was put a file on a USB stick and then plug it into the back of my TV. Then I went into the menus and found Software Update.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com, A property of CraveOnline, a division of AtomicOnline LLC ©2009 CraveOnline Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.