HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   The Rink (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=150)
-   -   Beginners and high-end sticks (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=773043)

macgyverthatshiz 05-06-2010 05:15 PM

Beginners and high-end sticks

I am not trying to come off like a d-bag, but I was just curious why so many beginner players always want to get $200+ sticks. I am a beginner myself, started out with a $35.00 Easton wood stick, then progressed to a Warrior Bentley composite for $70.00, which I am currently using, seems like a really good stick for the cash. My advice to beginners, buy a cheapo stick to find your shooting style, especially slap shots, as you WILL break sticks learning. :yo:

Crosbyfan 05-06-2010 05:21 PM

Agree. Put the money in skates and icetime.

doobie604 05-06-2010 05:27 PM

i doubt any beginner can break a stick by shooting. if you got the money got for it since eventually you will buy highend sticks anyways. and if you look hard enough, you can find cheap prostock or used top of the line stick for under 100bux. however i do think beginner should go with 2 piece rather than 1. you can try different curves and cheaper to replace a blade when it goes soft.

Heat McManus 05-06-2010 05:41 PM

They're for two types of people:

1. Those who can afford it

2. Those who need it.

They're nice to have, but it's not going to turn you into Ovechkin. A stick with the correct flex, lie, and comfortable curve cut to a reasonable length is going to the the most important thing.

Also, wood worked for the first century, there's no reason you can't play with it now.

Ducksgo* 05-06-2010 06:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by macgyverthatshiz (Post 25667640)