HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   The Rink (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=150)
-   -   Gloves or Stick? (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=799458)

Renneys Revenge 07-15-2010 11:21 AM

Gloves or Stick?

I realize that this is probably going to be more a matter of opinion than fact, but I am still interested to hear what people with more experience have to say.
I just started playing hockey last fall, and went with more or less all used equipment. I picked up a couple cheap wooden sticks from Dick's (gift certificate) and they have served me pretty well.
Now that I have some more experience (and some cash!) under my belt I am looking to switch to a composite stick, most likely a 2 piece. I also would like to pick up some new gloves as mine are worn through in the thumbs and now the palms. They are not impossible to play with but they are only getting worse.
As far as price goes, I only have enough for one or the other- so what do you guys suggest I go for first? I am playing in a summer league so either will be used right away.

Burket23 07-15-2010 11:26 AM

cheap gloves are not really bad. but cheap sticks kinda suck.

If i were you i would get a nice stick. then get some gloves on clearance on hockey monkey or some cheaper gloves. The cheap RBK gloves are nice.

Jarick 07-15-2010 11:27 AM

Didn't we just have this conversation?

I'd buy what you NEED to have first. And take your time trying on all the gloves in the store and checking out the sticks.

Devil Dancer 07-15-2010 12:53 PM

Buy cheap composites at first until you find a blade pattern and flex you really like, then upgrade. Otherwise you could get stuck with something that's not right for you.

I always cheap out on gloves.

DevsFan84 07-15-2010 01:06 PM

gloves.

Jarick 07-15-2010 01:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Devil Dancer (Post 26930131)
I always cheap out on gloves.