HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   The Rink (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=150)
-   -   Give me shooting tips/techniques. (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=825282)

Garfinkel1 10-02-2010 07:08 PM

Give me shooting tips/techniques.

Hey guys.

I started playing ice hockey again after maybe 10-15 years (I played back when I was very young but switched to Roller Hockey Goalie) and my shot is terrible. The other parts to my game have all come together but I can't seem to get much power in my shots. I have a pretty strong upper body strength so it's 100% my technique that's holding me back.

From my understanding... when I go to take a wrist shot I ..

1. get the puck on the inside of the heel of my stick
2. slide the puck forward on my stick - [at this point the puck rolls to the tip of the blade]
3. I kinda flip my wrist and point the blade towards where I want to shoot.
I'm not really sure about the weight transfer part... I try but I don't know if I'm doing it.

I seem to have the accuracy and lead my team in goals (Only 2 goals in 2 games :laugh:) but I have been in the situations where if I could get off some decent power I would have a good scoring chance but chose not to shoot because it doesn't make sense for me to..

So, Explain to me how to take a wrist shot/slap shot and give me as much details as possible...

I've been reading things like this article but no real difference in my shot...http://www.talkicehockey.co.uk/guide...wristshot.html

My info
Height:5'5
Weight:140 LBS

I use the Bauer Vapor X-Pro. I got the stick as a gift and I don't really know if it's a good stick or not.

http://img801.imageshack.us/img801/9870/photony.jpg http://img696.imageshack.us/img696/4633/photo2km.jpg

Jarick 10-02-2010 07:21 PM