HFBoards

HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   The Rink (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=150)
-   -   warrior ak? (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=835113)

cjspencer 10-28-2010 12:07 PM

warrior ak?

alrighty i've been using a senior warrior ak two-piece stick for about the last 3 years, i love it but i recently borrowed my friends one-piece vapor and i immediately knew i needed to get a one-piece. my old stick is starting to fall apart anyways, my blade pops out and i have to hot glue it like once a month.

anyways, i was looking at new sticks and i found the new warrior ak.

is this pretty much the same stick as the original ak, just as a one piece stick?

does anyone here use this stick, any feedback, pros/cons?

i'm 5'8, 150, play center on a midget bb team. i usually like shorter sticks as i'm more of a puckhandler/dangler. durability would also be nice as i like to grind in the corner and block shots

Jarick 10-28-2010 12:25 PM

Many one piece sticks are actually two piece sticks painted over at the joint. It could just be your stick is worn out.

The one piece AK actually has a bit of fibreglass in it for added durability and lower cost, which means it will be a little heavier than the AK shaft and have a little less kick. But for what you're describing, it sounds like it would be a good choice.

Also for your stick, glue doesn't hold the blade in:

Use a heat gun to heat up the shaft, holding it a few inches away, aimed a couple inches from the end, and rotating it slowly. It only needs to be heated for about 10-20 seconds; too much heat can cause the finish to bubble and damage the shaft, which may lead to premature breakage. Once the shaft is heated, insert the blade.