HFBoards (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/index.php)
-   Buffalo Sabres (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Tyler Myers received 5th place vote for Norris (http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/showthread.php?t=930529)

SabresAreScaryGood 06-22-2011 06:34 PM

Tyler Myers received 5th place vote for Norris

reporterchris Chris Johnston
Brian Campbell, Dan Hamhuis, Andrej Meszaros, Tyler Myers and Marc Staal all received one fifth-place Norris vote.

Connor McDavid 06-22-2011 07:00 PM

Thanks TBN

Thorton02 06-22-2011 07:00 PM

I was really excited before I saw the other people that were nominated with him. Still, a nice achievement and room for improvement.

omglolnub 06-22-2011 09:29 PM

Well this thread title was misleading. I opened up expecting to read that he got 5th place -overall- in the Norris voting. I like Myers, but given his play (along with most of the team) in the first half of the season, I was about to say, HUH?!


Moskau 06-22-2011 09:52 PM

This isn't exactly related to Myers getting a vote but the media votes make the awards such a farce. I think each GM, each Head Coach and each Head Pro Scout for each team should get a vote and that's it (except for the Ted Lindsay of course).

The main problem is that the average "writer" doesn't know **** about the sport outside of their own team and some of them don't even know **** about their own teams. How many East Coast writers stay up until 1am every morning watching West Coast games? How many West Coast writers can't wait to watch a Florida vs New Jersey matchup?

It always cracks me up when the full list of votes are released and you see players like Jody Shelley get a 6th place vote for the Hart and it happens EVERY YEAR. The fact that awards that are awarded mostly by biased media can then determine a contract value by millions is insane to me.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com, A property of CraveOnline, a division of AtomicOnline LLC ©2009 CraveOnline Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.