View Single Post
03-14-2004, 01:35 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 682
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by Kerberos
Just how close are we right now to the last stanley cup winning habs team? Discuss.

P.S: I'd contribute my own opinion but I'm too young to remember anything much about the 1993 season (except it maybe a few important goals) so I'd just look like a total idiot if I claimed anything

1993 Team

Vincent Damphousse
Kirk Muller
Brian Bellows
Stephan Lebeau
Mike Keane
Denis Savard
Gilbert Dionne
Eric Desjardins
John LeClair
Mathieu Schneider
Gary Leeman
Patrice Brisebois
Kevin Haller
Benoit Brunet
J.J. Daigneault
Rob Ramage
Paul DiPietro
Guy Carbonneau
Lyle Odelein
Todd Ewen
Ed Ronan
Brian Skrudland
Mario Roberge
Sean Hill
Jesse Belanger
Oleg Petrov
Donald Dufresne
Patrick Roy (G)
Andre Racicot (G)
Frederic Chabot (G)
Turner Stevenson
Eric Charron
Patrik Carnback
Patric Kjellberg

2004 team

Mike Ribeiro
M. Ryder
Saku Koivu
R. Zednik
S. Souray
P. Brisebois
Y. Perreault
Jan Bulis
A. Markov
P. Dagenais
N. Sundstrom
F. Bouillon
Joe Juneau
Steve Begin
A. Dackell
Craig Rivet
Jason Ward
D. Audette
S. Quintal
Chad Kilger
M. Komisarek
D. Langdon
Jim Dowd
Marcel Hossa
Ron Hainsey
B. Gratton
Gordie Dwyer
Karl Dykhuis
A. Kovalev
Jozef Balej
T. Plekanec
C. Higgins
Jose Theodore
Mathieu Garon
Not even close but getting there. The 1993 team was led by experienced playoff warriors like Carbonneau, Muller, Roy, Schneider, Damphousse, Keane and Desjardins among others. At the time, these players were among the best in the league at their respective roles. It was a very experienced and highly skilled team with a first rate defense, a good transition game and plenty of leadership. In addition, the present team has no John LeClair, i.e. someone who can stand in front of net, take punishment and is impossible to move. Surely not Dagenais...

It shows BG still has plenty of work to do to make the current edition a true contender IMO.

Last edited by Duster: 03-14-2004 at 01:40 PM.
Duster is offline