View Single Post
03-17-2004, 10:33 PM
Registered User
eSabre's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Country: United States
Posts: 6,477
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to eSabre
Originally Posted by windowlicker
Btw.... regarding the Hull "No Goal". The ref did make a judgement call that Hull had control of the puck when his skate entered the crease. Going by that, it is a goal, the Texans do deserve their Cup Rings. The real issue is, if you watch that whole sequence, Hull actually didnt have control of the puck when he entered the crease, thus making this a non-goal. Its not that it should have been no goal because his skate was in the crease, it should not have counted because the referee made a mistake and applied the correct rule to the wrong situation.
That's the thing. It was an illegal goal under the rules the at the time the game was being played. If Modano would have scored on a breakaway to win the Cup, fine, we can deal with that, but it should not have counted, and the game shouldn't have ended at 54:51 of overtime.

The NHL blew it, and it'll never go away. That section on the Cup will always be tarnished because of the way it went down.

eSabre is offline