View Single Post
Old
04-08-2009, 09:21 AM
  #1
Tomas Sandstrom 28
Registered User
 
Tomas Sandstrom 28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 519
vCash: 500
USA Hockey rulebook faceoff location

I have a question about a pretty specific example in one of my recent games. Say team A fires the puck all the way down the ice for an icing, automatic icing is called, but the other official overrules and says that on the way down the put deflected off the point man for team B, nullifying the icing.

Now where is the faceoff supposed to take place? My opinion is center ice, seeing as it was an officials error on the call. However, the officials called the faceoff all the way down in Team B's zone. This seems to be supported by USA hockey rulebook rule # 620(f), although it doesn't give much explaination.

why should team B be at a disadvantage because of an incorrect call?

Tomas Sandstrom 28 is offline   Reply With Quote