Rule Q - Picking Up An Extra Stick
View Single Post
05-05-2009, 01:35 AM
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by
Under broken sticks. If you want to let a player use his stick in that manner in one of your games, that's your call. I choose to consider player safety as a factor just as if a player had broken his stick and was only using the shaft to continue play.
Thanks for asking.
Just what about a stick turned upside down is a safety issue under the broken stick rule? The rule is broken sticks.
The call you should make is the call that you can defend the easiest. You would have a very hard time defending that call under the Broken Sticks rule because the stick is not broken.
If you can score by using the shaft of your stick, you can damn well score with the butt end of your stick. As a supervisor, if one of my referees made such a call, his next assignment would be on the lines.
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by Stripes