View Single Post
12-31-2004, 03:38 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,886
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by Psycho Joe
Why? They aren't Canadian based teams.

A better example would be the 1994 Nucks.
difference being, of course that the 94 Nucks followed on the heels of the 93 Habs cup, the 90 Oilers cup, the 89 Flames-Habs final, the 88 Oilers cup, the 87 Oilers cup, the 86 Habs-Flames final, the 85 Oilers cup, the 84 Oilers cup, the 83 Oilers final and the 82 Nucks final

it didn't seem special...who knew that the run by the 94 Nucks wouldn't be duplicated for 10 years?

The Flames won this award thanks mostly to timing...someone wins the grey cup every year, the Men had won the Worlds recently as well as the Olympics in 2002 and the summer Olympics did not provide Canada with any stirring team stories the Flames won for capturing the imagination of at least parts of the country (I'm not expecting them to have won over the diehard fans of other canadian teams that post here obviously)....and were in a situation no Canadian team had been in in 10 years...had any other Canadian NHL team done that this year, they would have won also

looooob is offline