View Single Post
01-07-2005, 04:54 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Country: United States
Posts: 723
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by Oilers Chick
It's unlikely that an underclassman (freshman or sophomore) will win it, because the selection committee tends to favor the upperclassmen.

The last underclassman to win the Hobey was Ryan Miller in 2001 (as a sophomore). Before Miller won it, the last underclassman to win it was Paul Kariya (as a freshman) in 1993.

BTW, I can't believe no one has mentioned Marty Sertich, Brett Sterling or Brent Walton for this award.
I think the CC guys are for sure candidates, if not front runners. However, I don't think Walton is up there right now. Western Michigan has played teh 38th ranked schedule in the country...guys like Sertich and Sterling (CC has the #8 schedule) or Potulny and Irmen (#1 schedule for MN) would score a lot more points based on that "lighter" competition. I really think the Hobey winner will come from the WCHA. I would have to give it to one of the CC guys right now...although Potulny could make a push. Just my $.02

chaachie12 is offline