Thread: Olympics: The Offside Goal
View Single Post
03-01-2010, 09:28 PM
Registered User
Stripes's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,185
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by Death128 View Post
Canada fan here... His skate was in the blue while the puck fully entered the blue. Not offside.
Learn to read. His back foot was in the air. Your skate has to be on the ice, it cannot be in the air across the blue line. There is no rulebook in the sport that allows your back foot to be in the air to put yourself onside.

The photo suggests it is offside, however, we still need to know the point where the puck completely crossed the blue line.

If this was offside, it's easy to see how the linesman missed it. He's looking through 3-4 players. His partner on the other side was in a better position to see the player on the far side, and would have been well within his rights to blow play dead if it was offside.

Also, can people please stop saying "offsides". IT'S NOT "OFFSIDES"! It's "OFFSIDE". You can't be off on more than one side, so why do people pluralize it!?

Stripes is offline