View Single Post
03-02-2010, 03:00 PM
nik jr
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2005
Country: Congo-Kinshasa
Posts: 10,798
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by Blizzard View Post
You are correct, missed that one, double checked my scan it should be 104 for Stewart. Double checked the others, they are correct from this Lethbridge article. i think I have a Winnipeg one from the same year may go deeper for the Byng and can double check all from it.

The result of the voting by points
was as follows:

Nels Stewart, Maroons,
104 points; Lionel Hltchman, Boston,
94; .Ralph Weiland, Boston, 79; Prank
Clancy, Ottawa. 77; Frank Boucher,
New York Rangers, 75; Norman Himes,
New York Americans, 70; Howie Morenz,
Camdiens, and Chas. Gardiner,
Chicago, tied, 60.

Voting lor the Lady Byng trophy,
among the leaders, was as follows:
Frank Boucher. New York Rangers,
127; Norman Himes, New York Americans,
108; Ralph Weiland, Boston. 82;
Harold Darragh. Pittsburgh, 81; Gco.
Hay. Detroit, 73.

Hold on the Syracuse paper has Stewart at 101, which matches your original, and the rest the same. They also have Weiland as 90 for the Byng not 82 and Himes at 103 not 108.

See if I can dig up a third source.
4-17-1930 ottawa citizen has the same for the hart (other than stewart who was at 101), verbatim, meaning they both used the same source, or one was the source for the other.

but they have himes at 103 in byng voting.

this same paper also says frank nighbor won the '23 hart. but there was no hart in '23.

nik jr is offline   Reply With Quote