Thread: Comrie Tantrum
View Single Post
09-27-2003, 07:28 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Waterloo, ON
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,173
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to kraigus Send a message via MSN to kraigus
Originally Posted by IceDragoon
How can you say "the right call was made"? You didn't see it. From every replay angle it was clear that Comrie's elbow didn't touch Forsberg. The ref bought Flopper's performance. In this case the wrong call was made.
I did see it, and from what I recall thinking the call was bad, but understanding how the refs could have miscalled it. Sure, "from every replay angle it was clear"... but the refs don't call penalties from the replays! Like Van says, if the player looks badly hurt, you have to bite on it as a referee; I just wish they'd call the diving penalty more often. "OK Peter, you got away with it last time, in fact, you drew a major.. look, you just made a marginal flop, 2 minutes for diving, how you like that?" would cure him fairly quickly, I think. But the stars get away with more than the non-stars do, and compared to Forsberg, Comrie's Pluto.

kraigus is offline