View Single Post
Old
05-25-2010, 05:24 PM
  #66
Drake1588
UNATCO
 
Drake1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 27,846
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wetcoaster View Post
The same rule in the NHL as well.

http://www.nhl.com/ice/page.htm?id=26334

Deliver a clip and if the player is injured then it is at least a 5 minute major and a game misconduct:
Fair; I suppose what I mean is that I'm not as much a fan of the end result in the IIHF, as a function of the rule(s) on the books, the ultimate interpretation by officials, and the calls made on the ice. There is generally more contextual officiating in the NHL than in the IIHF. I don't think the IIHF officials have as much license for discretion, as do officials in the NHL. I don't believe five plus a game would have resulted from that hit in the NHL, at that point of a title game, despite the presence of the rule. I think he would have received five and returned to the ice afterwards. A quibble, though.

As for the hit itself, I thought Emelin made direct contact with the knees, myself. Penalty.


Last edited by Drake1588: 05-25-2010 at 06:14 PM. Reason: Error correction
Drake1588 is offline