View Single Post
05-25-2010, 05:52 PM
Registered User
mexicohockey's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: DF
Country: Mexico
Posts: 788
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by Drake1588 View Post
I don't think the IIHF officials have as much license for discretion, as do officials in the NHL. I don't believe five plus a game would have resulted from that hit in the NHL, at that point of a tie game, despite the presence of the rule. I think he would have received five and returned to the ice afterwards. A quibble, though.

As for the hit itself, I thought Emelin made direct contact with the knees, myself. Penalty.
IMO Emelin tries to hip-check but turns around late, resulting a hit on Jagr with his shoulder/upper-body in the opponent's knee region. Therefore, a penalty, and by the rule book, correctly called.
I concur that NHL refs have more liberties than their IIHF peers, but the game was 2-0 Czechs at the time of the incident.
It is therefore pretty lame to pretend that this called was anywhere close to decisive for the outcome of the game (Russia unable to score for more than 50 minutes, as has been mentioned over and over again...)

mexicohockey is offline