View Single Post
Old
06-09-2010, 08:36 PM
  #13
Glove Malfunction
Ference is my binky
 
Glove Malfunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Far NortheasternMass
Country: United States
Posts: 8,715
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randall Ritchey View Post
It's just the fact is if my goalie didn't do anything, I likely would have gotten decked.
Rules are if you try and instigate a fight or participate in a fight, you get kicked out.
He tried to instigate and didn't get anything.

The main area was the tripping. Should I have gotten called?
Short answer: Yes.

You're probably thinking of the note in the tripping rule that says that "If, in the opinion of the Referee, a player is unquestionably hook-checking the puck and obtains possession of it, thereby tripping the puck carrier, no penalty shall be imposed."

However, the tripping rule also has a section that states "Any player who deliberately leaves his feet and contacts an opponent with any part of his body thereby causing the opponent to trip or fall shall be assessed a minor penalty." Since you dove and tripped your opponent, it's clearly a tripping penalty.

As to your belligerent opponent - sounds like he needs to take a chill pill.

Glove Malfunction is offline   Reply With Quote