View Single Post
Old
09-20-2010, 12:26 PM
  #1
johnniewalker
Registered User
 
johnniewalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 1,883
vCash: 500
The Beer and Nightlife Thread v3

Welcome to the official beer and nightlife thread of the Pittsburgh Penguins.

For our old, trusty beer thread that got too big, go here: http://hfboards.com/showthread.php?t=499677

As a service to new members, and to people from other cities that might be visiting, this post will grow to contain a bunch of information about beers to try and places in Pittsburgh to try them.

Great Beer Bars in Pittsburgh
NameWebsitePart of townWhy you should go there
Fat Headshttp://fatheads.com/Southside42 beers on tap, decent selection of bottles, the best bar food in Pittsburgh.
The Sharp Edge Beer Emporiumhttp://sharpedgebeer.com/Friendship28 Belgians on tap, 25 American Micros/Imports on tap, bottle selection so big that it needs a menu, decent but overpriced food. Their late night (after 10) and happy hours are great deals, though. HH is from 4:30 - 6:30 on weekdays and is half-off Belgian drafts, boneless wings and individual pizzas.
Smokin' Joe's Saloonhttp://www.smokinjoessaloon.com/Southside60 beers on tap, 350+ bottles available, good bar food.
D's Six Pax & Dogzhttp://www.ds6pax.com/Regent Square15+ beers on tap, 1000+ bottles in a beer cave from which you can mix and match six packs, great bar food (though it's pretty unhealthy in a lot of cases).
Harris Grillhttp://www.harrisgrill.com/Shadyside15+ beers on tap, occasional use of a Randall the Enamel Animal, decent selection of bottles, good happy hour every day, awesome bar food, nice front and rear patio areas.
Piper's Pubhttp://piperspub.com/Southside20+ beers on tap, great selection of scotch, great English/Irish pub food.
Point Brugge Caféhttp://www.pointbrugge.com/Point Breeze6 beers on tap, decent bottle selection, fantastic food and ambiance.
DISH Osteria & Barhttp://www.dishosteria.com/Southside10 beers on tap, decent bottle selection, fantastic food and ambiance.
Buffalo Blueshttp://www.b2restaurants.com/buffaloblues/ShadysideGood beer selection, decent food with good specials each night. Good place to watch sporting events, with lots of TVs and specials during games.
Fuel & Fuddlehttp://www.fuelandfuddle.com/Oakland10 beers on tap, great bottle selection, great bar food.
The Libraryhttp://www.thelibrary-pgh.com/Southside10+ beers on tap, decent bottle selection, decent food, the menus are made out of books, so you can do a little light reading while you wait for your food and drinks to arrive.
Primanti Brothershttp://www.primantibrothers.com/Strip District, Oakland, Southside, DowntownBeer selection is pretty weak, but it's the home of the legendary Primanti Bros sandwich. Take some fresh Italian bread, add some kind of meat and cheese of your choosing, and then smother the crap out of that with cole slaw and fries.
Church Brew Workshttp://www.churchbrew.com/Strip DistrictDecent selection of beers brewed on the premises, good food that is somewhat overpriced, you get to drink in a church that has been remodeled into a brewery. The food and the beer will both probably disappoint you for the price, but it's something everyone should do at least once.
Penn Breweryhttp://www.pennbrew.com/NorthsideDecent german food and fresh beer brewed on the premises.
Firehouse Loungehttp://www.firehouse-lounge.com/Strip DistrictDecent selection of bottles and drafts, cool atmosphere, dancing (if you dig that sort of thing).
Hofbräuhaushttp://www.hofbrauhauspittsburgh.com/SouthsideDecent beer brewed on the premises, decent food, cool atmosphere.
Bloomfield Bridge Tavernhttp://www.myspace.com/polishpartyhouseBloomfieldDirt cheap beer and dirt cheap polish food. Some of the best pirogies in town.
Bites and Brews/Elbow Roomhttp://www.b2restaurants.com/bitesandbrews/ShadysideDecent beer selection, good food.

Great Breweries in North America
BreweryLocationWebsite
Russian River Brewing CompanySanta Rosa, CAhttp://www.russianriverbrewing.com/
Founders Brewing CompanyGrand Rapids, MIhttp://www.foundersbrewing.com/
Three Floyds Brewing Co.Munster, INhttp://www.3floyds.com/
Stone Brewing CompanyEscondido, CAhttp://www.stoneworldbistro.com/
Dogfish Head Craft BreweryRehoboth Beach, MDhttp://www.dogfish.com/
East End Brewing CompanyPittsburgh, PAhttp://www.eastendbrewing.com/
Tröegs Brewing CompanyHarrisburg, PAhttp://www.troegs.com/
Terrapin Beer CompanyAthens, GAhttp://www.terrapinbeer.com/
Bell's Brewery, Inc.Kalamazoo, MIhttp://www.bellsbeer.com/
Sierra Nevada Brewing CompanyChico, CAhttp://www.sierra-nevada.com/
Great Lakes Brewing CompanyCleveland, OHhttp://www.greatlakesbrewing.com/
UnibroueChambly, Quebechttp://www.unibroue.com/
Bear Republic Brewing Co.Healdsburg, CAhttp://www.bearrepublic.com/
Brooklyn BreweryBrooklyn, NYhttp://www.brooklynbrewery.com/
Oskar Blues Grill & BreweryLyons, COhttp://www.oskarblues.com/
Rogue AlesNewport, ORhttp://www.rogue.com/
Southern Tier Brewing CompanyLakewood, NYhttp://www.southerntierbrewing.com/
Great Divide Brewing CompanyDenver, COhttp://greatdivide.com/
Magic Hat Brewing CompanyBurlington, VThttp://www.magichat.net/
Lagunitas Brewing CompanyPetaluma, CAhttp://www.lagunitas.com/
Green Flash Brewing Co.Vista, CAhttp://www.greenflashbrew.com/
New Belgium Brewing CompanyFort Collins, COhttp://www.newbelgium.com/
Victory Brewing CompanyDowningtown, PAhttp://www.victorybeer.com/
The Avery Brewing CompanyBoulder, COhttp://www.averybrewing.com/
Boulder Beer CompanyBoulder, COhttp://www.boulderbeer.com/
Big Sky Brewing CompanyMissoula, MThttp://www.bigskybrew.com/

johnniewalker is offline