View Single Post
05-13-2005, 06:10 PM
Registered User
Malefic74's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Halfway between Nothing and Not Much Else
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,758
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by gary69
If they win/runner-up Norris, of course. And the expection rule (1 player every 10 years), I'm sure Francis would be one of those considered for that, since Yzerman has been selected to All-Star team (my mistake in earlier post).

And btw, I don't think Nicholls is worthy anyway.
See now there is a flaw there though. For the last 10 years or so (possibly longer) the Norris has gone to defenceman with offensive ability if not an outright points machine like Paul Coffey. The last strictly defensive defencemen to win the Norris was Rod Langway in 83-84 a season when he had 33 points.

I think we can agree that there have been many, many good or even great defensive defencemen since then. How are they to be recognised? Some of them have never even seen the nomination envelope because so many would rather pick powerplay specialists and offensive defencemen.

Malefic74 is offline