View Single Post
05-13-2005, 07:07 PM
Registered User
gary69's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Then and there
Posts: 3,204
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by Malefic74
See now there is a flaw there though. For the last 10 years or so (possibly longer) the Norris has gone to defenceman with offensive ability if not an outright points machine like Paul Coffey. The last strictly defensive defencemen to win the Norris was Rod Langway in 83-84 a season when he had 33 points.

I think we can agree that there have been many, many good or even great defensive defencemen since then. How are they to be recognised? Some of them have never even seen the nomination envelope because so many would rather pick powerplay specialists and offensive defencemen.
Well, if a d-man isn't elected even once to a post-season all-star during his whole career, is he really HHOF material. Just as an example, name some d-men from the past 20 years, who wouldn't meet the suggested criteria (Norris winner/runner-up or 1st/2nd All-Star team) and who you'd still like to get in.

Last edited by gary69: 05-13-2005 at 07:23 PM.
gary69 is offline