View Single Post
02-12-2011, 01:24 PM
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Out There
Posts: 54,908
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by Chumley View Post
I can't believe this. It's ironic that night I was terrified watching the Canuck's D going back for the puck in thier own zone and thinkin', "Man, somebody else is going to get hurt as things happen in three's." Sure enough.

I'd call it a border line dirty hit. Getzlaf left his feet.
Not at the time of contact. He drove up and through the hit.

The Vancouver Sun has a screen capture of the hit and both skates are on the at the time of impact:

Cam Cole's analysis of the hit - Getzlaf hit well within the rules:
Hamhuis did spin away from the coming hit as he turned to fire the puck around the boards. Getzlaf did not hammer him into the glass, but basically skated right through the No. 2 on the back of Hamhuis's sweater as he flew by. No elbow, no first contact with the head, and his skates didn't leave the ice until after the contact.

Last edited by Wetcoaster: 02-13-2011 at 07:58 AM.
Wetcoaster is offline