View Single Post
Old
02-20-2011, 04:04 PM
  #180
TonySCV
Moderator
One More Time
 
TonySCV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 12,884
vCash: 500
Watching Chicago cough up a craptacular SHG to Pittsburgh just now.. something about the circumstances of the delayed penalty just don't make a lot of sense to me.

Chicago was on the PP. There was a delayed penalty being called against Chicago... during the delayed penalty Pittsburgh scored a SHG. I would prefer to see that negate Chicago's PP regardless. Instead, PIT gets the goal but has to stay shorthanded through the duration of the Chicago PP. I see the other side of it (extra skater on, the penalty cost a goal, etc.), but it just doesn't seem right. Just an oddity in the rule book I guess.

I also think teams who are awarded a penalty shot should have the option of taking the PP instead. Similar circumstances... if you have the chance to negate another team's PP, you should do it in some cases (near the end of the game if the other team is down by a goal, for example).

TonySCV is offline