Thread: Post-Game Talk: Hawks Win! Hawks Win! Game 7! 4-3 F/OT!
View Single Post
Old
04-24-2011, 11:42 PM
  #105
sedag
Registered User
 
sedag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,024
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackhawkswincup View Post
Didn't the NHL say hit behind net = Not protected area?

Bickell hit was almost like Torres except Bieksa actually had puck and Bickell was looking to seperate him from puck
You are correct. Colin Campbell said that Rule 48.1 - "A lateral or blind side hit to an opponent where the head is targeted and/or the principle point of contact is not permitted." - is essentially thrown out if the hit is behind the net. Does "behind the net" mean directly behind the net or anywhere in the trapezoid? I don't know.

sedag is offline