Thread: No touch Icing
View Single Post
Old
08-11-2011, 10:57 AM
  #48
SenzZen
Registered User
 
SenzZen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 8,829
vCash: 500
No disrespect to any player that's been injured during a race to negate an icing call, but these injuries occur on dump-ins as well. This happened to Sebastien Savage nearly 6 years ago on a play that started in the neutral zone, but across the red line.

I'd be ok with the Hybrid style, but anyone who thinks these injuries will disappear by eliminating touch icing is mistaken. How many icings are called for every injury like Foster's? The problem in most instances like his is the forechecking player, not the rule. This was not the case with Savage as he was the forechecker- who fell over his opponent who had slipped, leaving him to slide head-first into the end boards.

SenzZen is offline   Reply With Quote