View Single Post
10-20-2011, 12:46 PM
Snubbed Again
chaosrevolver's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 14,621
vCash: 500
We will select Coach: Cooney Weiland

* Stanley Cup Championship (1941)
* Lester Patrick Trophy (1971)
* 2x AHCA Coach of the Year
* Hobey Baker Legend of College Hockey Award (1993)
* Sheaffer Pen Award (1962)
* Canadian Press National League Coach of the year (1941)
* NHL Record: 58-20-18
* AHL Record: 93-53-24
* Harvard Record: 316-172-17
* Never missed the playoffs in six years of pro hockey coaching (three finals appearances)
First off, he had 2 awesome years coaching in the NHL, and while that time was short, he did win a championship and made the playoffs both years. Nevertheless, he wanted to coach younger players and moved on.

In the AHL, he coached for six years (I can only find 4 years of records though) and made the playoffs all four years including two finals appearances.

Say what you want, but that is three final appearances in six years between two leagues. He then would move on to Harvard and coach there for twenty-one years. In 1971, he was awarded with the Lester Patrick Trophy for his contributions to growing the game in the United States.

Originally Posted by vecens24
I've been championing him to a few owners for a while now (including TDMM). He also has two American Hockey Coaches Association coach of the year awards from the college game, won the Hobey Baker Legend of College Hockey Award in 1993 (honors "one of the all-time great contributors to the game of college hockey."), and the Sheaffer Pen Award for outstanding contributions to New England collegiate hockey in 1962. Also, in 1941 he selected by the Canadian Press the National League Coach of the year in the NHL.

Last edited by chaosrevolver: 10-27-2011 at 01:45 AM.
chaosrevolver is offline   Reply With Quote