View Single Post
Old
11-30-2011, 08:39 PM
  #841
ECWHSWI
5M? insulting!!!
 
ECWHSWI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16,334
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burke View Post
In his video explanations he does not say any of that though. He thoroughly explains his decisions in regards to the rule he has to work with.

48.1 Illegal Check to the Head A hit resulting in contact with an opponent's head where the head is targeted and the principal point of contact is not permitted. However, in determining whether such a hit should have been permitted, the circumstances of the hit, including whether the opponent put himself in a vulnerable position immediately prior to or simultaneously with the hit or the head contact on an otherwise legal body check was avoidable, can be considered.

For example, what is "OK to headshot someone reaching for the puck (Campoli)" and "not OK to headshot someone who's about to shoot (Letang)" to you is "including whether the opponent put himself in a vulnerable position immediately prior to or simultaneously with the hit" to Shannahan.

He explains it well and shows the postion of the head and its movement in super slow motion and freeze frame in his decisions when that it a factor or not.
he doesnt say it in his vids, he says so the way he handles the (non) suspensions...

ECWHSWI is online now   Reply With Quote