View Single Post
Old
11-03-2003, 02:04 PM
  #15
txpd
Registered User
 
txpd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 39,816
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWM3owner
You can run all these game numbers but the fact is the caps are not looking anything like a team and have miles to go before they start at winning at a regular pace
I am not running a numbers game. I am only pointing out that difference in schedule difficulty. It will even out to some extent. I would not dare to think the Caps would be 7-0-1 if they had played the
TB schedule. I also would think that Tampa might be in the .500 range if they had played the Caps schedule.
There are two ways to look at the Capitals situation. Based on performance the last several years, the Caps would have done what they did on that road trip as it was scheduled. They win occasionally in montreal. They just don't win in toronto, dallas, st louis and ottawa. They never have to play them all in a row like that, but in the past they lost those games anyway. the next group of games look like this....
Nov 4 2003, Tue AWAY Lightning 7:00 PM ET -
Nov 6 2003, Thu AWAY Flyers 7:00 PM ET -
Nov 8 2003, Sat HOME Sharks 7:00 PM ET -
Nov 10 2003, Mon HOME Kings 7:00 PM ET -
Nov 12 2003, Wed HOME Hurricanes 7:00 PM ET -
Nov 14 2003, Fri HOME Lightning 7:00 PM ET -
Nov 15 2003, Sat AWAY Hurricanes 7:00 PM ET -
Nov 20 2003, Thu AWAY Bruins 7:00 PM ET -
Nov 22 2003, Sat HOME Panthers 7:00 PM ET -
Nov 24 2003, Mon AWAY Red Wings 7:30 PM ET -
Nov 26 2003, Wed AWAY Sabres 7:00 PM ET -
Nov 28 2003, Fri HOME Canadiens 7:00 PM ET RDS
Nov 29 2003, Sat AWAY Blue Jackets 7:00 PM ET -
with home games against the sharks, kings, canes, and bolts the Caps can establish that they can compete. if the Caps don't win 8 of those 13 games we will know for sure what they have. If they make the right changes and adjustments and can win 8 of those 13, they finish the first two months at 10-14-1, but heading in the right direction.

txpd is offline