View Single Post
12-11-2011, 11:15 AM
[email protected]
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vancouver
Country: Canada
Posts: 17,553
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by Hockey Outsider View Post
It's interesting that the following Europeans won awards before Lidstrom won his first Norris:

- Bure won the Calder (1992)
- Fedorov won the Hart (1994) and Selke (1994, 1996)
- Hasek won the Hart (1997, 1998) and Vezina (1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999)
- Forsberg won the Calder (1995)
- Samsonov won the Calder (1998)
- Lehtien won the Selke (1998, 1999)
- Jagr won the Hart (1999)
- Kolzig won the Vezina (2000)
- Demitra won the Byng (2000)

All three Hart trophy finalists were European in 1998 (Hasek, Jagr, Selanne) and 1999 (Jagr, Yashin, Hasek), and two out of three were European in 1994 (Fedorov, Hasek, Vanbiesbrouck) and 1995 (Lindros, Jagr, Hasek) and 2000 (Pronger, Jagr, Bure). There was one European finalist in 1997, and none in 1996. Over this period, 13 out of 21 Hart finalists and 4 out of 7 Hart winners were European.

European players had a stranglehold on the RW all-star position from 1993 to 2000 (Jagr x6, Selanne x4, Bure x2, Mogilny x2, all other non-Europeans x2).

Interesting how the anti-European bias apparently only affected Lidstrom.
Look I don't necessarily agree with the OP's anti European opinion but in the above list it's pretty glaring that Dman are missing don't you think?

There is less expectation for the forwards to play a physical game than for Dmen and for goalies it's a non factor.

Maybe it's not so much that Lidstrom was from Sweden but rather his style of play and his supporting cast that influenced voters when it came to the Norris in those years.

also it might be that Eva is a little sensitive about protecting and hyping Detroit players, as evidenced by his Yzerman thread but that's just a guess on my part.

Hardyvan123 is offline   Reply With Quote