View Single Post
12-21-2011, 05:38 PM
Sidney the Kidney
All zee Germans!
Sidney the Kidney's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Country: Canada
Posts: 14,260
vCash: 80
Originally Posted by Teemu View Post
Scott and Engelland clearly drop the gloves at the same time, yet Scott walks away with a 2 minute penalty and a 10 minute misconduct for instigating
I've never been a fan of the instigator penalty to begin with, so don't think this is defending a Penguin or whatever. But my guess is the ref saw Scott as the instigator because he went straight for Engelland after Engelland threw the hit. In other words, while both dropped the gloves at the same time, the ref probably judged that it was Scott confronting Engelland after the hit that instigated the fight.

Just IMO.

Sidney the Kidney is offline   Reply With Quote