View Single Post
Old
12-28-2005, 03:47 PM
  #110
Pred303
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Murfreesboro, Tn.
Country: United States
Posts: 3,853
vCash: 500
interesting argument last night about phaneuf's goal..

you see johnson and trotz arguing after the goal for some reason and vokoun obviously mad and pointing back out front...couldn't figure out why they were arguing to tell the truth...pete chimes in on the broadcast that they were arguing with magoo about no goalie interference being called... but then they show the replay and you see vokoun is all alone in his crease and no one is within stick distance of him when the shot beats him, so pete and terry just shut up about it...

for the life of me, i couldn't understand what they were complaining about..then someone mentions it on the other board and i go back and slow mo the replay to see... think thru the situation, calgary is on the powerplay with the puck in our zone, shot goes in from the point that vokoun deflects back to the end boards.... kariya is back and tries to backhand the puck out up the halfboards...gets it high and it's going out...huselius jumps as high as he can and tries to catch the puck, and can barely reach it with his hand,but deflects it down, where it drops right to phaneuf.. who gathers it up and fires a rocket...

of course it was a hand pass... you cann't deflect or pass a puck to a teammate (accidently or on purpose) with your hand outside the defensive zone...that, of course, is what everyone was screaming at that idiot magoo...who is next seen explaining to trotz and making motions where he is no doubt telling trotz "he didn't mean to pass it to him with his hand,so it wasn't a hand pass"...which is of course absolutely wrong... the rule has nothing to do with intent, only result

here's the rule;
Rule 59 Handling Puck with Hands

A player shall be permitted to stop or "bat" a puck in the air with his open hand, or push it along the ice with his hand, and the play shall not be stopped unless, in the opinion of the Referee, he has directed the puck to a teammate in any zone other than the defending zone, in which case the play shall be stopped and the puck faced-off at the spot where the offense occurred, except when the offense occurs in the attacking zone in which case the ensuing face-off shall be conducted outside the defending Team's blue line in the neutral zone.

magoo was obviously arguing the "in the opinion of the referee" part of the rule...but that is dead wrong, the rule clearly states if the puck was "directed" to a teammate the play has to be blown dead, whether that was by accident or intent... and the puck plainly went from huselius's hand directly to phaneuf's stick..

dumbass magoo, this guy is a joke

Pred303 is online now