View Single Post
03-28-2012, 02:55 PM
Registered User
clmetsfan's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Country: United States
Posts: 3,781
vCash: 500
I'm going to use this as an opportunity to ***** about the Selke award. It's complete crap that it almost always goes to a player who is at least above average offensively rather than a true defensive specialist. Seriously, where are the Jay Pandolfos and Blair Betts in the Selke voting? Look at the point totals of the winners since the lockout:

Kesler -- 73
Datsyuk -- 70
Datsyuk -- 97
Datsyuk -- 97
Brind'Amour -- 82
Brind'Amour -- 70

Past winners before that were frequently very good -- if not elite -- offensive players like Fedorov, Francis, Peca, Gilmour, and Yzerman. In fact, there have only been five instances in the past 20 years where a player won the award with less than 50 points: Guy Carbonneau in '92 (39 pts), Jere Lehtinen in '98 and '03 (42 and 48), John Madden in '01 (38), and Kris Draper in '04 (40).

It's like the Gold Glove award in baseball, where the only people who win without being very good offensive players are those with other-worldy defensive skills (ie Ozzie Smith, Omar Vizquel, Rey Ordonez).

It's supposed to be the best defensive forward, not the best two-way forward. It's ******** if you ask me.

/rant over

clmetsfan is offline   Reply With Quote