View Single Post
03-28-2012, 04:24 PM
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Country: United States
Posts: 16,230
vCash: 500
Originally Posted by clmetsfan View Post
I'm going to use this as an opportunity to ***** about the Selke award. It's complete crap that it almost always goes to a player who is at least above average offensively rather than a true defensive specialist. Seriously, where are the Jay Pandolfos and Blair Betts in the Selke voting? Look at the point totals of the winners since the lockout:

Kesler -- 73
Datsyuk -- 70
Datsyuk -- 97
Datsyuk -- 97
Brind'Amour -- 82
Brind'Amour -- 70

Past winners before that were frequently very good -- if not elite -- offensive players like Fedorov, Francis, Peca, Gilmour, and Yzerman. In fact, there have only been five instances in the past 20 years where a player won the award with less than 50 points: Guy Carbonneau in '92 (39 pts), Jere Lehtinen in '98 and '03 (42 and 48), John Madden in '01 (38), and Kris Draper in '04 (40).

It's like the Gold Glove award in baseball, where the only people who win without being very good offensive players are those with other-worldy defensive skills (ie Ozzie Smith, Omar Vizquel, Rey Ordonez).

It's supposed to be the best defensive forward, not the best two-way forward. It's ******** if you ask me.

/rant over
It is obnoxious. I agree.

Same with the Norris. Girardi should be a prime candidate and finalist for the Norris but he doesn't have the points. It isn't supposed to be best offensive defenseman, rather its supposed to be best defenseman.

There needs to be separate trophies for top offensive and defensive defensemen.

And separate trophies for top defensive and offensive forwards.

SupersonicMonkey* is offline   Reply With Quote