View Single Post
Old
04-03-2012, 10:18 PM
  #118
snoop244
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 32
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by HogtownSabresfan View Post
SportsNet central just showed the whole play again and it's clear ref is on top of it the whole time. Not sure why the ref was practically in the crease himself but I'm glad he had position for sure,
He's in the crease because nearly every Leaf was there too. Why hang back? Every player on the ice was in front of him. That was absolutely the right positioning and the right call. If they blow the whistle in that situation you encourage a team defending the lead to just collapse into the crease and fall on the puck. As stated earlier, if that were on the boards, they never would have blown it down.

I don't have the rules in front of me, but I'm pretty sure the "lost sight of the puck" rule applies when the ref believes the puck is covered by the goaltender, not a skater.

snoop244 is offline   Reply With Quote