View Single Post
04-08-2012, 12:53 AM
Registered User
ck20's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 1,136
vCash: 50
Just some food for thought, only 2 teams have won the Presidents Trophy and Cup in the same year since 2000 - Colorado in 2000-01 and Detroit in 2001-02 and 2007-08. Before that, Dallas did it in 98-99, Rangers in 93-94, Calgary in 88-89, then was the Oilers dynasty. That means, since Calgary in 88-89 (that's 23 seasons excluding 04-05), the scenario of winning both trophies has happened 6 times. That's another 17 seasons where the PT winner didn't win the Cup. On top of that, there were only 2 years since 88-89 where the PT winner even reached the Cup Finals (Boston in 89-90 and Detroit in 94-95). Little extra: the PT winner has bowed out in the 1st round 5 times, the 2nd round 3 times, and the 3rd round 5 times so it isn't any sort of indication of how a team will fare. Remember - playoffs are a different kind of beast. So everyone needs to relax saying that this is automatically the end of everything.

Last edited by ck20: 04-08-2012 at 01:05 AM.
ck20 is offline   Reply With Quote